NCAA Fencing Championships

The NCAA has held championships in fencing every year since 1941 except for the four years 1943-46 during World War II. From 1941 through 1981, the championships were limited to men's fencing events and four championships were contested: men's epee individual, men's foil individual, men's sabre individual, and team (i.e., men's three-weapon).

For these early championships, there were no qualifying competitions but each school could enter only one fencer in each weapon and each school paid the entire expenses of their fencers attending the championships. The championships were run as a complete round robin in each weapon with the champion decided by whoever had the most number of victories at the end of the round robin. If two or more fencers had the same number of victories, first place was decided by a fence-off while all remaining ties in victories were decided by the touch indicator. The team championship was decided by adding to total number of victories a school had in all three weapons, not counting any fence-off victories.

Beginning in 1982, two women's NCAA championships were contested: women's foil individual and women's foil team. This meant that there were two team championships: a men's 3-weapon team and a women's foil team. In 1990, the single men's 3-weapon team championship was changed into three team championships, one for each weapon, and one combined team championships was awarded for the best combined men's and women's results. In 1995, women's epee was added to the championships and the four weapon-specific team championships were dropped leaving only the combined team championship which now included the women's epee results.

Beginning in 2000 a women's sabre individual championship was added and those results were included in the combined team championship. The NCAA fencing championships has thus consisted in its current format of six individual championships and one combined team championship since 2000.

Of the twelve different types of championships that the NCAA has awarded in fencing, the top three schools that have won the most of each of them are:

Men's Epee Individual – New York University (10), Wayne State University (8), and Columbia, Navy, and St. John's (6 each).

Men's Foil Individual – Wayne State University (11), Columbia (10), and New York University (8)

Men's Sabre Individual - Columbia and New York University (11 each), and St. John's (8)

Women's Epee Individual – Penn State University (6), Notre Dame (5), and St. John's and Wayne State (3 each)

Women's Foil Individual – Penn State University (8), Notre Dame (7), and Columbia-Barnard (4)

Women's Sabre Individual – Notre Dame and Duke (3), and Columbia-Barnard and Yale (2 each)

Men's 3-weapon Team (discontinued) – New York University (10 plus 2 shared with Columbia), Columbia (9 plus 2 shared with NYU), and Wayne State University (7)

Men's Epee Team (discontinued) – Columbia (3), and Penn State University and Princeton (1)

Men's Foil Team (discontinued) – Columbia and Yale (2 each), and Notre Dame (1)

Men's Sabre Team (discontinued) – Penn State University (2), and University of Pennsylvania, Columbia, and Yale (1 each)

Women's Team (discontinued) – Wayne State University (3), Yale (2), and Notre Dame, Penn State University, and University of Pennsylvania (1 each)

Combined Team – Penn State University (12), Notre Dame (4), and Ohio State (3)

Over the course of the 69 NCAA fencing championships since 1941, 32 different schools have hosted them with Notre Dame having hosted the most with nine, Ohio State with five, and the Air Force Academy and Wisconsin(Parkside) hosting four each.